Learn About Types of Driving Licences in India

Learn About Types of Driving Licences in India

November 27, 2020 Off By h-lange

The government organization, Regional Transport Office (RTO) also referred to as the Regional Transport Authority (RTA) is responsible for issuing the driving licence (DL) in India. A typical DL has an official stamp as well as a signature from the concerned officer in charge as well as other RTO information in India, such as the office address from where a DL has been issued. If you wish to drive on Indian roads, it is crucial to first apply for a driving licence. A driving licence can be of different types, depending on the type of vehicle a person opts to drive. The different types of driving licences issued in our country are:

Learning licence

A learning licence is issued to someone who is still learning to drive a motor vehicle. The time duration for which this licence stays valid is 30 days. After 30 days, a person can apply for a permanent driving licence. In order for a learner to apply for a permanent driving licence, a person should pass the driving test conducted at the RTO office. It should be noted that a person having only a learning licence can not drive alone on roads and must be accompanied by an individual having a permanent driving licence holder.

Permanent Driving licence

A permanent driving licence is the typical DL issued to owners of private vehicles. It gives the authority to the owner to drive the vehicles in the country. A permanent driving licence is also issued by the RTO after giving the mandatory driving test. There is a certain age only after which a person is eligible to apply for a permanent driving licence. You can only apply for a DL if you are at least 18 years old. A permanent driving licence displays the owner’s information such as a photograph, address, signature, etc. The types of vehicles that a person can drive are also mentioned in the driving licence.

Commercial Driving licence

The steps involved to get the commercial driving licence are more or less the same as that for a permanent driving licence. The only difference is that for issuing a commercial driving licence, a medical checkup is usually done for the applicant. Also, it is necessary for the person to have at least passed the 8th standard exams. A commercial driving licence gives authority to the person to drive heavy vehicles that may be involved in the transportation of goods from one place to another. The minimum age to apply for this licence varies from one place to another, hence you must visit your local RTO to know more about it. For instance, if a person lives in Kerala, then he/she can visit RTO Offices in Kerala to get the details about the rules and regulations. 

International Driving Permit

Through this permit, a person can drive vehicles on foreign roads. This permit is valid only when it is used in combination with the permanent driving licence. The validity of the international driving permit is one year after which a person can re-apply for the permit if required.